Personal tools


News Archive

New Scientific Committee Appointed for 2018–2021

New Scientific Committee Appointed for 2018–2021

The new Scientific Committee (SC) of the World Data System has been appointed for a three-year period commencing on 1 July 2018. The new Committee was chosen by the Executive Board of the International Council for Science, taking into account gender and geographical balance, and that at least one-third of the Committee are Directors of WDS Member Organizations. We would like to extend a warm welcome to the three new full members of the WDS-SC—Marc Nyssen, David 'Paddy' Patterson, and Ioana Popescu.

We are very pleased to announce that the Executive Board also approved a 1-year 'rolling' thirteenth seat to be filled by a representative of the WDS Early Career Researcher and Scientist Network (WDS-ECR Network). The first person to take up this position for 2018–2019 is Alice Fremand, a research data manager at Strasbourg University and one of the three Co-chairs of  the WDS-ECR Network.

Sandy Harrison continues her second term as Chair of the Scientific Committee until 2020, and is joined by Vice Chairs Alex de Sherbinin and Ingrid Dillo. A full list of Committee members, along with their bios, can be found on the Scientific Committee page.

Finally, we sincerely thank all of the outgoing Committee members for their dedication to ICSU-WDS: Claudia Emerson, Wim Hugo, Guoqing Li, and Sanna Sorvari.