Personal tools


News Archive

Boris Biskaborn Wins 2016 WDS Data Stewardship Award

Boris Biskaborn Wins 2016 WDS Data Stewardship Award

Congratulations to Dr Boris Biskaborn, who was selected by the WDS Scientific Committee (WDS-SC) as the 2016 winner of the WDS Data Stewardship Award. This accolade highlights exceptional contributions to the improvement of scientific data stewardship by early career researchers through their engagement with the community, academic achievements, and innovations. Dr Biskaborn will be presented with the 2016 Award and a prize at SciDataCon 2016 alongside the 2015 Award winner, Yaxing Wei.

Dr Biskaborn is a geoscientist at the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, and leads the Global Terrestrial Network for Permafrost (GTN-P). Upon learning of his win, Dr Biskaborn stated: 'I am very grateful and would like to say "thank you very much" on behalf of the entire GTN-P data management group. Sustainable achievements in data management, especially in a global network such as GTN-P, is only possible through team work, and we managed to reached the point we currently are together. In particular, we were bolstered by the high motivation of the team at the Arctic Portal in Akureyri, Iceland, and I would explicitly like to recognize Jean-Pierre Lanckman for his great dedication to the GTN-P data management system.'